Summer is… Kayaking with the kids

Last weekend, we kayaked with the kids at Shoreline Lake in Mountain View. I was really surprised by how easy it was to get around in a kayak. Which made me wonder: could I sketch from one? (I’d brought my sketchbag onboard, just in case) But sketching and paddling proved too much to do ( I tried), so after we kayaked, I jumped into a paddle boat with my son, and he got to paddle and steer while I sketched the kayakers from aboard the paddleboat. I had to keep it quick and almost calligraphic. A bobbing boat doesn’t make for smooth, flowing lines. Neocolor watersoluble crayon for dashes of color. Added a little later from ashore.
Summer is... Kayaking with the kids

Once we were done, I did two more sketches: one from the pier, watching the action on shore as kayaks and canoes were pulled ashore and stored away. I left the figures uncolored in this sketch: the boats are such bright primary colors that the people looked almost drained of color by contrast.
shoreline_kayaking2

And another one from onshore, looking down at the lake with it’s sailboats, kayaks, canoes,¬†and paddleboats.
shoreline_kayaking1

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
Image | This entry was posted in Close to home, Silicon Valley and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer is… Kayaking with the kids

  1. hugo costa says:

    Nice! you got also the “time dimension” or movement on these sketches! congrats!

  2. the color is lively. love it.

Leave a Reply

