Summer is….

Summer is my favorite season in California.
Summer is when school is out and I get to hang out with my kids a whole lot of the time.
Summer is all the things we’ll do and explore over the next few weeks.

Last week it was Snap Circuits and Cal Academy, San Francisco.

Snap Circuits have really colorful components that let you build all sorts of circuits. These are my kids, with hundreds of  little parts scattered around. For once, I was sure they would stay where they were long enough for me to sketch them. So I sketched this piece really large: 24″x18″ (my sketches are usually about 8×10 inches). It was fun to work the line with  a bamboo pen, but hard to move freely around such a big sketch. I don’t think I took a longer time over this piece, even though it was much larger: it’s just that a line that would have taken a flick of the wrist in my sketchbook took a big sweeping arc of my arm at this scale.

Summer is....
We spent the first day of summer vacation at the Cal Academy Skulls exhibit. The exhibit is dominated by a wall with over 400 sea lion skulls. Most of these skulls are collected and cleaned by a biologist called Ray Bandar.
academy_of_sciences_skulls1

There are skulls of large and small animals at the exhibit. I loved the really strange skulls: those of the spoonbill, the hummingbird, the curlew and the sailfish. The little boy in the sketch below spent a lot of time making a very detailed sketch of the skull of a white-tailed deer.

academy_of_sciences_skulls2

My kids and I all sketched the fish at the aquarium, and we guesstimated their sizes and discussed their colors, but forgot to note down their names. So there you have it: A bunch of colorful but nameless fish that we drew.everyone_sketch

More summer adventures, coming soon!

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
Image | This entry was posted in Animals, california and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer is….

  1. KnitNell says:

    Lovely sketches – all of them – your children must really look forward to the holidays!

  2. Mari says:

    This is exquisite!

  3. Lynn Holbein says:

    Such a wonderful inspiration to get out the sketchbook!

Leave a Reply

