A strange pairing: sketches from a garden and a salon

It helps when a weekend’s sketches hold together thematically. These don’t. Two from the salon, sketched while my daughter had her haircut. One from Filoli Gardens in Woodside.

Lady getting her nails done. What I enjoyed most about this scene was painting the very warm pool of light from the lamp. It was quite dramatic. It’s fun to find drama in everyday stuff. And the bottles of colored nailpolish were a blast to paint in.Image

I like the ‘hair held up before the snip’ moment. Image

This is Filoli Gardens in Woodside, California. I’ve sketched this garden before, in the springtime. It’s a fun place to draw in any season. Image

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Silicon Valley and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A strange pairing: sketches from a garden and a salon

  1. Steph says:

    Love them all! My favorite is the haircut!!

  2. lakshmi says:

    i always enjoy your watercolors…the immediacy of the moment is amazing!

  3. Ana Isabel Lencastre says:

    I love all your sketches!!! I like very much the way you use the watercolours!
    Hope see you in Barcelona! I did’nt had chance to inscribe in symposium but I’ll be there anyway…

  4. Lee Kline says:

    That haircut sketch is fabulous. I am jealous of everyone going to Barcelona!

  5. Kait says:

    The nail salon is my favourite of the two salon sketches. The nail polish bottles just finish it off beautifully. :)

Leave a Reply

