My current sketchkit

So many of you write in and ask what tools I work with, so I thought I’d post them here. My ‘studio’ lives in my bag, and is relatively compact:

- A Windsor and Newton Travel sketch kit. I use Artist Tubes (also Windsor and Newton) to refill the pans. 12 colors. I always wish I had more, but there is something nice about mixing my colors and not having a zillion pre-made shades that I use.
– 2 little bits of sea sponge jammed into the empty spaces in the box. Great for wiping brushes and little cleanups. Super absorbent.
– My most used brush is a Cotman series #6 brush. Sometimes I also use a #8 or #10 brush, and very rarely, a #4. I have a couple of fancier Kolinsky sable brushes and while they hold paint beautifully, the Cotmans hold up much better to my not-so-gentle handling.
– Extra water. Always. The ONLY problem with my travel kit is that the water bottle built into the kit is miserably small. Ideally, I’d love a compact container with 2 wells for water so I could switch to the less muddy water halfway through my piece. Any recommendations?
– Pencil. Derwent 4B. Sometimes a 6B. I usually work directly with pen, but every once in a while I will roughly sketch out a layout with the main perspective lines drawn in.
– Eraser. I love my white eraser. And somewhere in my sketch bag is always a dirty little balled up kneaded eraser.
– Sharpie Extra Fine Pen. Not Ultra Fine. That works completely differently and I MUCH prefer the Extra Fine one. I always have 4 or 5 of these with me.
– The one bit that’s missing here is my sketchbook. Currently I’m loving my Stillman & Birn Beta series books. I use the wirebound ones. But I’m toying with using the Zeta, which is a much smoother paper for super-quick sketches.

My current sketchkit

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
Image | This entry was posted in Doodles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My current sketchkit

  1. Lee Kline says:

    Suhita! I love that you use the Sharpie! I love it. Let’s evangelize for the humble Sharpie.

    Lee Kline

  2. Steph says:

    Love this! Such a beautiful sketch!!

  3. Caatje says:

    Instead of water in seperate containers I love using waterbrushes. Always clean water right there in the brush and the brush tips clean off easily on a tissue or sponge. Love the sketch of your kit!

  4. Lady Aga says:

    I’m in love with waterbrushes and I can’t imagine to carry water with me:) My fav pens are Micron. And I have 12 colors too:))

  5. Dianne says:

    Hi, for an extra water cup I use a small colapsable travel cup. I think I got it through Amazon.com.

  6. Bobbie says:

    Wondering if you know any sketchcrawls or outings in the south bay. I live in Santa Cruz and am looking to connect with a group. Thanks, Bobbie

  7. Bill Polm says:

    I’m thinking of using a relatively flat plastic bottle lid, maybe 3″ in diameter, since it would be compact and work well to wash out my brush(es). I’ve found that some of the collapsible cups don’t last lost with frequent expanding and collapsing (The handle cuts through its hold in the edge of the cup, for example).

Leave a Reply

