Sculpture in Seattle


The first thing that struck me about Seattle this time around ( I was there almost 2 years ago, was I not looking?) was HOW MUCH public art there is everywhere.  Here are a few sketches of some pieces that caught my eye.

Calder’s Eagle at the Olympic Sculpture Park. Captured on a lovely Sunday morning of sketching with Gail Wong. It is fun to sketch with a fellow urban sketcher. Thanks for a lovely morning, Gail!

So glad Gail suggested we sketch Serra’s ‘Wake’ next. At first glance, it was a set of imposing, undulating walls, but then the spaces in between started to speak and colors appeared where I saw just big metal walls at first…

Liberman’s ‘Olympic Iliad’ at the Seattle Center. A mad mass of of huge orange-red tubes that cast strange shadows on each other. And the ever-present Seattle Needle (more on my obsession with the Needle in another post) looming in the background.

And another piece from the Seattle Center: a large totem pole totem pole carved in honor of slain woodcarver John T. Williams
A late addition: Chihuly. What fascinated me most was how beautifully the gardens were planted: how the plants and vegetation were chosen to reflect the forms, shapes and color of the pieces.

You can see more sketches from Seattle here on my flickr stream.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Seattle, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sculpture in Seattle

  1. lovely. really like no. 2

  2. Joy says:

    Chihuly, one of my favorites. His garden glass installations are always spectacular and you did a beautiful job capturing the color and movement.

  3. these are wonderful pieces. you make the sculptures look so majestic. I bookmarked your site years ago when I started blogging and flickring, and as I’m going through all my bookmarked blogs I’ve realised I missed so much of your work. Will “follow” you from now on. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

