Flowers at Filoli

If you live in the San Francisco Bay Area and haven’t heard of Filoli Gardens, google it now. Better still go right now, because the daffodils, the tulips, the magnolis, and many, many more flowers that I don’t know the names to are in bloom right now, and it is spectacular.

My first stop? What is modestly called “The House” at Filoli: a mansion that is now a museum. My favorite tree in the Bay Area has to be the magnolia. (did you know that the magnolia is a REALLY ancient tree that evolved before there were bees? That accounts for its really thick, tough petals – they were pollinated by beetles and had to be strong enough to hold up the weight of these creatures) There’s a spectacular magnolia tree in full bloom right now, right in front of the house. No one could walk past it without stopping and taking pictures.

I asked a docent which part of this huge estate I should visit if I didn’t have a lot of time, and he pointed me towards the Sunken Garden. This perfectly symmetrical pool is surrounded, (right now, it changes seasonally) by flaming orange and gold tulips and a delicate blue-purple flower called Baby Blue Eyes.

One last stop you MUST make after walking around the estate is the cafe. I LOVE their desserts and try a new one every time I go. I have yet to have one I didn’t like. Today’s pick: A pear-almond tart. And a coffee to go with it.

To find out more about Filoli click here.
And to see all my sketches from my trip, visit my flickr stream.

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, Food, Silicon Valley and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Flowers at Filoli

  1. Bri says:

    Absolutely beautiful artistry of the Filoli Gardens. I am a Bay Area native but I’ve never been there. I would have loved it I’m sure. Thank you for sharing your experience and sketches!!

    -Bri

  2. Sue Pownall says:

    These paintings are gorgeous. What a beautiful place that you have captured so well.

  3. Sandraws says:

    These sketches are uplifting! I like the cafe one best, I don’t know why – the simplicity perhaps? Or maybe because it also has text… Anyway, they really are all lovely :0)

  4. acid amino says:

    I love your rich post. brilliant work. I hope you release many. I will carry on reading

  5. Kait says:

    Lovely sketches, particularly like the last one, maybe because I’m feeling like a little dessert and coffee!

  6. Pingback: A strange pairing: sketches from a garden and a salon | Sketch Away: Travels with my sketchbook

Leave a Reply

