Color and Motion: Garba at the Asian Art Museum

These dancers at the Asian Art Museum were dancing the Garba, a dance from Gujarat, India. The dance sequences were really short: each session lasted a frenzied 5 minutes, danced to a catchy Bollywood tune . I made each of these pages of sketches over a session of the dance. There was so much to try and capture: the motion, the color, the beating of dandiya sticks…

It was fun to sit right up front next to the dancers and sketch.


 

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Color and Motion: Garba at the Asian Art Museum

  1. pneu says:

    I love the way you’ve captured both the brightness of their costumes and their movement and energy! Your work is inspiring me to take up sketching…in a very, very small, beginner way. :)

  2. Carol Meese says:

    Good for you Suhita! I’m familiar with Indian dancing as my husband is from South India. You really captured the excitement and color of it all, a nearly impossible task sketching live, but you did it! I enjoy all you posts. Thank You sharing.

  3. I looked at your sketches before I read the headline or text. My immediate reaction was “what beautiful color and motion!

  4. Melissa says:

    Fantastic. I love that you tried to capture something in a mere five minutes–my work is always so painstaking, and then ends up looking frozen. These have such life and movement to them–wonderful.

  5. Peggy says:

    Very beautiful and exciting!

  6. sreelu says:

    beautifully captured, I can feel the energy in your sketch

  7. Pradeep Kumar says:

    Simply Superb Amazing Strokes

  8. Sandra says:

    These sketches are so vibrant! I really enjoyed all your postings. It’s fun to recognize San Francisco and the surrounding sites.

Leave a Reply

