Pumpkin Patch at Spina Farms, San Jose

This started out as a trip to the Pumpkin Patch, so here is a quick sketch I made at Spina Farms Pumpkin Patch.

 

But I soon spotted this beautiful old Dodge Truck:

 

I spoke to Jesse at the farm stand that sells locally grown produce. She said her father-in-law bought the truck and they tow it out to the pumpkin patch every year. She hopes to have it restored one of these days. As she said, it was built in the ‘good old days’ when vehicles were machines with no computers, which means it can be repaired and brought back to life, even today. She thinks her family bought the truck in ’44 or ’45.

I googled the truck. It’s either a ’40 or ’41 truck. It’s such a gorgeous truck, I went back and sketched it again, this time I took a good 45 minutes over the sketch. I think I will try and go back one more time. The front grill and hood ornament have these beautiful art deco lines that need a different angle to do them justice…

 

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Pumpkin Patch at Spina Farms, San Jose

  1. Frank Bettendorf says:

    Looks like great fun! I especially like the last truck sketch. Have you ever gone to Half Moon Bay to see their fields of pumpkins? Always fun to see the kids in the fields, but the drive over from 280 is an absolute bear. I know because I used to live in Belmont! I enjoy seeing your sketches and hope you’ll continue. Frank B

  2. JW says:

    Love the second drawing of the truck. i like the sloppy, flowy paint.

  3. krimakria says:

    Cool sketch! The truck looks old AND full of energy. Nice.

  4. Go back! Go back! I can’t wait to see more. Beautiful.

  5. Phil says:

    that truck seems like a real break through- nice neutrals and good heavy darks too! Congrats.

  6. clare says:

    Sensational, I love all of these the colours and the last truck is superb.

  7. Those are really good! I need to get over to Half Moon Bay and select mine. I love the way you suggest color, do you use one of those water brush things I’ve been hearing about? It’s nice when it’s so portable! Your pictures are so spontaneous and lively! And your ink doesn’t run (I sound envious, don’t I!)! What kind of pen do you use? I love using a fountain pen, but I can’t get waterproof ink for it.

    • Dianee, you can get an ink called “Noodlers Bulletproof ink ” for your fountain pen. I currently use Sharpies but just run through so many of them, it’s getting expensive! I might switch to the ink. A lot fo sketchers I know love it…

  8. I love rusty, vintage and just plain old things…these sketches are a great capture. (As usual!)

  9. Hi Suhita, I just found you this evening and love your work. I especially loved what you did with the old Dodge truck. Those hood ornaments and grilles on these old relics are/were as important as our eyes, noses and mouths. So many today are so much the same, the uniquieness seems gone. thanks for a great image.

Leave a Reply

