Doing the touristy thing in San Francisco

Nothing is more touristy than Fishermans Wharf in San Francisco. Yes, it’s mad, it totally misses that wonderful feel of all the different neighborhoods of the city. But is is fun, especially with kids.

First stop: Musee Mechanique, with it’s wonderful collection of old-time, coin operated machines. I didn’t play pinball, but this machine was a treat to draw.

 

Next up: Arm Wrestling, and the photobooth. No, I didn’t draw the photobooth. ¬†Just took a picture in there.

 

This fortune teller was just too colorful and strangely eerie to pass up. I dropped in a couple of quarters for a fortune. Apparently I don’t have to worry about bills anymore.

Next up: The S.S. Jeremiah O’Brien,a fully functional WWII ship. If you think it looks majestic on the outside, you just HAVE to go inside and see the working engine room. I need to find out if they will let me stand in there for a little while with my sketchbook and paints and make a sketch. That’s Alcatraz in the distance. And a Blue and Gold Fleet boat passing by.

Same spot, different view: turning the other way. The Pier. And Coit Tower in the distance. There’s something about the sky in San Francisco I like painting: it usually looks heavy, grey and messy.¬†

One last sketch: The big Fishermans Wharf sign at sunset. The end of a long day.
About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Doing the touristy thing in San Francisco

  1. Vicky says:

    These are great! I love the free lines you have and the loosely placed colors. Lovely.

  2. cat says:

    oh my, we lived in a suburb of San Francisco many years ago and your drawings brought back the sights so vividly that I could smell and hear my memories as well. Thank you so much for a trip back in time made real by your lovely drawings and colors. You certainly captured the flavor of the place.

  3. Balaji says:

    Your sketches around the pier/wharf are very nice.

  4. Melissa says:

    I love how you painted the ship, the way the colors from it merge with the sky colors, and the bird in the foreground–really evocative.

  5. Jonny 0 says:

    I like your sketch of Sing a Long

  6. Linda T says:

    Just spent a delightful time looking at your latest posts. I love your work–great line quality, composition, color–what a treat!

Leave a Reply

