Santa Cruz

A day of sketching in Santa Cruz, California.
Sketching the boats from the moving dock was a strange experience: the boats rock, the moving dock I was sitting on rocked, and then there were the waves…. Together it all made me feel a little seasick.

Quick sketch of the lighthouse and rocks.

Red boat and lighthouse.

Loads of boats. It was challenging to capture the sense of all those boats without being overwhelmed by the crisscross of lines and masts all around.

Downtown Santa Crua, and my favorite Del Mar Theater. I’ve drawn this one a few times before. Love the colors and the lettering

About Suhita Shirodkar

obsessive-sketcher. graphic designer.
This entry was posted in california, Close to home, people, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Santa Cruz

  1. C... says:

    Great work! California has so much great coastline to sketch.

  2. azry66 says:

    These are great! I love how loose everything feels. What do you use to colour your sketches? I was in Santa Cruz just a few weeks ago, I guess I should have brought a sketch book too.

    – Andi (http://www.thelongridge.com)

  3. big toe (Sherrie) says:

    WOW! these are all terrific
    A lovely memento

  4. sreelu says:

    beautiful, love santa cruz come summer we are a regulars at boardwalk .

  5. Tiago Cruz says:

    Beautiful drawings… Love your work!

  6. ben says:

    The reds on the fishing boat are superb!

  7. Cathy Holtom says:

    Fantastic sketches, especially the fishing boats!

  8. Joan Gillman Smith says:

    Great sketches! You have a masterful touch!

  9. Ursula says:

    I’ve never sketched at the harbor in Santa Cruz, only taken (a lot of) photos. Twin Lakes is our favorite beach to go to, though, so I’ll have to bring some supplies to draw when we go again.
    I think you did a fabulous job not getting lost in all those lines on the boats. It’s hard when I’m faced with complicated things like that and I tend to just settle for vague scribbles in the background. It looks like you simplified them in a way that made sense.
    I miss the old theaters – good that the Del Mar has hung on.

    • Ursula, I’ll have to check out Twin Lakes. I have a tiny watercolor kit, a couple of brushes, a bottle of water and a sketchbook ALL the time: you never know when you’ll encounter a sketch! of course it means I NEVER carry around one of those tiny, elegant bags… :)

  10. Timaree says:

    Wow! Great sketches. I like how you got the busyness, the crammed in feeling of the boats without drawing every one of them.

  11. I think the red boat is my favorite but I really like the downtown sketch as well. Great people!

  12. Anita says:

    These are gorgeous! I love the third one down – just perfect!

  13. martasart says:

    A beautiful set of sketches. Santa Cruz is a wonderful place and you made it look so inviting!

  14. Alex Tan says:

    These are BEAUTIFUL! I was at the beach for 3 days but I didn’t get a chance to draw…having too much fun with the kids and family. :D

  15. Suhita, your sketches are just amazing! The boats in the harbor is my favorite.. feels like I’m there.
    lynn

  16. Sharmila says:

    Simply beautiful!

  17. I just love your loose style! I admire anyone that can make something wonderful from the least amount of strokes!

  18. Great review! You actually touched some nice things on your blog. I came across it by using Yahoo and I’ve got to admit that I already subscribed to the RSS, it’s very great :)

  19. gregorbucik says:

    woooow. really. amazing sketches. love your work, found your blog via mattias inks site, i like it when i randomly find blogs from such good artists like yourself :) keep up the good work!!!

  20. Janice L-H says:

    Lovely loose style and wonderful color!

Leave a Reply

